Home
Pastor
Staff
LeadershipAbout Us
Mission Statement
History
Worship
Christian Education
Youth
Children
Mission
Music
Presbyterian Women
Member News
Contact Us
Facility Rental
Events
Photo Album




 

Our History

The members and friends of First Presbyterian Church Parkersburg are focused on Gathering, Growing, Going.  And that's just what the church has done since 26 members first gathered for services at the Wood County Courthouse in 1833.  As membership numbers grew, the church relocated to three sites scattered throughout downtown Parkersburg from 1837 until 1961.

Church on Market Street
     
Christ Mosaic On Palm Sunday in 1961, the congregation marched from the Gothic Revival style sanctuary at 10th and Market Streets to this soaring, contemporary church on Juliana Street.  Designed by prominent ecclesiastical architect Harold Eugene Wagoner of Philadelphia, the building boasts a 40-foot high expanse of windows in the sanctuary.  The unique stained glass window and mosaic that dominate the facade of the sanctuary were designed and executed by internationally renowned stained glass artist Henry Lee Willet.  Willet's preferred style was small, jewel-like, early French windows.
     
A sweeping renovation of First Presbyterian Church began in 1998 and its completion was marked in a dedication service in October 2002.  Changes included a new lobby, covered porte cochere, and renovation of the chapel with an additional columbarium and beautiful stained glass and woodwork. Columbarium and Stained Glass Window
      
Bell Tower The Bell Tower, with its gleaming bells and prominent cross, was added in 2001.  Beneath the tower is the church's Prayer Garden, which serves as a pleasant area for meditation and prayer.

Church History in Archived Photos    Archiving our Church History